Major UK Motor Racing Teams

Major UK Motor Racing TeamsThe UK is known as the home of some of the world's leading motor racing teams. Some of the most accomplished Formula One teams are based in the UK and find success on circuits around the world. The UK is also home to leading international teams.


The Lotus F1 Team is a Formula One racing team based in Enstone, Oxfordshire. The team traces its roots to 1981 and the Toleman Motorsport team. Some of the team's most accomplished drivers have included Michael Schumacher, Johnny Herbert, Giancarlo Fisichella and Fernando Alonso. Over the years, it has been known as Benetton Formula, Renault and Lotus Renault GP. The team competed for the first time as Lotus F1 during the 2012 Formula One season. The Lotus F1 Team is owned by Gennii Capital, a venture capital group based in Luxemburg.

In 2011, Lotus Cars became involved with the Renault team. Team Lotus had competed in Formula One races from 1958 to 1994 and won seven constructors' titles along with six drivers' titles. In 2010, the Lotus name returned under the Lotus Racing banner until Group Lotus ended a licence for the name. The privately owned Team Lotus name has subsequently been used since 2011. Since Lotus F1 was launched, some of the team's most accomplished drivers have included Kimi Räikkönen and Romain Grosjean.

McLaren Mercedes

McLaren Mercedes, also known as McLaren Racing and part of the McLaren Group, is based in Woking, Surrey. Although primarily known as a Formula One team, it has also competed and found success in the Canadian-American Challenge Cup (Can-Am) and the Indianapolis 500. The team was founded in 1963 by champion driver Bruce McLaren. In 1981, McLaren merged with Project Four Racing. Since the 1990s, the team has worked closely with Mercedes.

McLaren won its first Grand Prix in 1968 and dominated the Can-Am series between 1967 and 1971. Maclaren has won eight Constructors' Championships and twelve Drivers' Champiuonships on the Formula One circuit since 1974. Some of the team's best known drivers have included Niki Lauda, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna. More recently, the team's roster of drivers has included Lewis Hamilton, Kevin Magnussen and Jenson Button.

Williams Martini Racing

Williams Martini Racing was founded and currently owned by Sir Frank Williams and Patrick Head. Also known as Williams Grant Prix Engineering Limited, the team was formed in 1977 after the failure of Frank Williams Racing Cars and Walter Wolf Racing. Since 2009, an investment company led by Toto Wolff of Austria has owned a minority interest in the team.

Williams is one of only three Formula Teams have won 100 races, including Ferrari and McLaren. Past drivers for Williams have included Jacques Villeneuve, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Jenson Button, Alain Prost, Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna and Alan Jones. Over the years, the team has won nine Constructors' Championships and seven Drivers' Championships. The team is based at Grove, Oxfordshire.

Marussia Sport Racing

Marussia Manor Racing was formed in 1990 by John Booth. The team currently competes in Formula One as Marussia F1, the GP3 Series and the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0. It has previously competed in the British F3, Auto GP World Series, Formula Three Euroseries and Formula Renault 2.0 UK. Past drivers have included Kimi äikkönen and Lewis Hamilton. Also known as Manor Motorsport, the team was bought out by Formula Renault UK team manager Tony Shaw in 2007.

The Marussia F1 Team is managed by Manor Motorsport, a subsidiary of Russian car maker Marussia Motors. The Anglo-Russian team is based in Banbury, Oxfordshire. The team has competed under the Marussia name since 2012 after Marussia Motors purchased a controlling stake in the team. Previously, the team was previously known as Manor Grand Prix and later Virgin Racing and began competing in Formula One races during the 2010 season. Although the Formula One

Other UK-Based Teams

In addition to Marussia, a number of motor racing teams licenced in other countries operate in the UK. Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team is based in Brackley and operates with a German licence. Similarly, Infiniti Red Bull Racing is based in Milton Keynes. Formerly known as Red Bull Racing and tracing its roots to Stweard Grand Prix and Jaguar Racing, the team operates under an Austrian licence. Since 2010, it has won four Constructors' Championships and four Drivers' Championships. Drivers have included Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, David Coulthard and Mark Webber.

Based at the Leafield Technical Centre, Caterham F1 Team races under a Malaysian licence and is owned by Swiss and Middle Eastern investors. The team was owned by Tony Fernandes until 2014. Fernandes previously led Team Lotus and Lotus before acquiring British sports car maker Caterham Cars and forming the Caterham Group in 2012.